Skip to main content
ECTN Awards
news from


date of the message


The 2021 edition of the Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards is open for applications.

The theme of the fourth edition of the Awards is “Regenerating European Tourism through Culture, Heritage and Creativity”.

The Awards scheme is organised by the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN) in partnership with Europa Nostra, the European Travel Commission and NECSTouR, with the aim of encouraging the development of sustainable tourism destinations around Europe. It was launched during the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018 and seeks to contribute to its legacy.

The 2021 Awards will be given for achievements by cultural tourism destinations which have produced significant results related to enhancing visitor experience while respecting traditions and involving local communities.

The Awards scheme is open to all tourist destinations across Europe: national, regional and local authorities, tourism boards and associations, destination management organisations, museums, interpretation centres, cultural routes, festivals and cultural NGOs.

There are 6 categories, one of them being

  • Railway Heritage Assets for Cultural Tourism, in the framework of the ‘European Year of Rail 2021’, supported by FEDECRAIL – the European Federation of Museum & Tourist Railways – and E-FAITH – the European Federation of Associations of Industrial and Technical Heritage
    For details: see the website of ECTN

Applications can be made by 1 July (17:00 CET) 2021.

This year’s winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held during the 14th International Conference for Cultural Tourism organised by ECTN on 20-23 October 2021 in Athens, Greece.